“I Swear on the River Styx…”

My eyes begin to water as I realize I’ve stared at my laptop screen far too long without blinking. I close my eyes tightly and hot tears come streaming down my cheeks. When the stinging pain subsides, I open my eyes and catch a glimpse of the time.

11:35 PM

It’s nearly the end of another day and I was barely productive. The load of homework I have yet to finish looms high above me and I cringe at the thought of not submitting them all on time. It’s our sembreak but I’m still filled to the brim with stress. What a nice vacation this is.

It’s so messed up, really. They teach us to be scholarly and be on time but we all usually end up cramming and procrastinating… I’m not an exception. I could have finished my Chemistry worksheet days ago but I chose to read a novel that is entirely unrelated to school. I could have finished my Statistics homework but I opted to watch horror short films instead. Well, maybe the difficulty of the tasks at hand is a factor as to why I haven’t touched my papers ever since my first attempt but, that’s beside the point.

I don’t think any of us will be effective scholars until we stop putting things off until the last minute. Procrastination shouldn’t be part of our vocabulary. I know it’s easier said than done but, for our own sake, let’s just do our schoolwork in advance.

I swear on the River Styx that I shall not procrastinate ever again after this moment.

(And then you’ll see me stressing out the day before school resumes because I haven’t finished my requirements yet. Ha ha… hopefully not.)

Leave a Reply

